Tunbridge Wells & District Netball League

Joan Mills

The Tunbridhge Wells & District Netball League celebrated their 21st Birthday at the Angel Leisure Centre in 19… at an indoor evening involving clubs from each of the League’s six divisions, a Veterans match played to 1930 rules and a county fixture between Kent and Surrey, followed by a celebration buffet.

Clubs taking part were : BKT, Ightham 2 & 4, Roselands, Longmead, Halstead  1 & 2, Westerham, Sevenoaks 1 & 2, Haysden and Tonbridge.

Players who took part in the Veterans match were :

Goal Shooters : Margaret Coles and Jan Stewart

Attacks : Anthea Durkin and Penny Hemmings

Attacking Centres : Jill Moxon and Gloria Peake

Centres : Janet Parrish and Janet Bond

Defending Centres : Marion Cooke and Ann Jones

Defences : Nina O’Keeffe and Maureen Martyn

Goal Keepers : Helen Longley and Doreen Watson

Umpires : Barbara O’Connell and Margaret Lott

Coach : Joan Mills

Kent County squad : Chris Luhr, Pauline Hamilton, Janice Blanshard, Janette Devine, Janet Reid, Angela Littlewood, Catherine Shepherd, Nickie Treadwell, Yvonne Wright, Lesley Spencer

Coach : Anne Brenchley

Umpire : Cathy Hickey

Surrey County squad : Janice Lane, Yvonne Cobb, Denise Hunter, Sheila Byrne, Lesley Edmondson, Rachel Folley, Debbie Baird, Maggie Gartland, Jane Bradshaw, Liz Rodgers, Sandra Martin

Coach : Margaret Rickman

Umpire : Helen Watt


No Comments

Start the ball rolling by posting a comment on this page!

Add a comment about this page

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *